Tuskeegee Airmen

Tuskeegee Airmen P-51

"We are the heroes from the night, to hell with the enemy power, let us fly let us fly, let us fly. Pilot with black skin. The flaming glow stepped. If one flies you winner will be, you show you are good. We are the heroes from the night, to hell with the enemy power, let us fly let us fly let us fly!"
Tuskegee Airmen Movie

The special to the "Tuskegee Airmen" was that itself the entire personnel from black one recruited. In the time of the racial segregation with all their prejudices, the pilots had to exist not only against the enemy in the sky, but succeed also still against the prejudices, disadvantages and degradations of their own comrades. At the end the "Tuskegee Airmen", how they were also called after their isolated training place in Alabama, has proven that black ones are capable of the same achievements, like their white comrades. The Germans called the men of the 332. Fighter Group "black bird people", while the bomber crews of US 12th air Force and US 15th air Forces called them respectfully "Redtail Angels" after their salient red tail unit painting. The unit acquired itself special fame by the fact that with their entire bomber escort in corroding none of their protection-ordered bombers were shot down by enemy fighters.

At the end of the war the pilots of the 332 Fighter Group could look on an impressing balance: in approx.. 15,000 mission they could destroy more than 400 enemy airplanes. In addition innumerable ground targets, under it even came a German destroyer.

They got 850 awards.
66 Tuskegee Airmen were killed in action.

Tuskeegee Airmen

Tuskeegee Airmen P-51

"Wir sind die Helden aus der Nacht, zur Hölle mit des Feindes Macht, flieg flieg, flieg. Piloten mit schwarzer Haut. Trat die flammende Glut. Fliege man du wirst Sieger sein, zeigt ihr Du bist gut. Wir sind die Helden aus der Nacht, zur Hölle mit des Feindes Macht, flieg flieg flieg!"
Tuskegee Airmen Film

Das besondere an den "Tuskegee Airmen" war, dass sich das gesamte Personal aus Schwarzen rekrutierte. In der Zeit der Rassentrennung mit all ihren Vorurteilen, mussten die Piloten nicht nur gegen den Feind am Himmel bestehen, sondern sich auch noch gegen die Vorurteile, Benachteiligungen und Erniedrigungen ihrer eigenen Kameraden durchsetzen. Am Ende haben die "Tuskegee Airmen", wie sie nach ihrem isolierten Ausbildungsort in Alabama auch genannt wurden, bewiesen, dass Schwarze zu den gleichen Leistungen fähig sind, wie ihre weißen Kameraden. Die Deutschen nannten die Männer der 332. Fighter Group "Schwarze Vogelmenschen", während die Bomberbesatzungen der US 12th Air Force und der US 15th Air Forces sie respektvoll "Redtail Angels" nach ihren markanten roten Heckleitwerkbemalung nannten. Die Einheit erwarb sich besonderen Ruhm dadurch, dass bei ihren gesamten Bombereskort-Einsätzen keiner ihrer schutzbefohlenen Bomber von feindlichen Jägern abgeschossen wurde.

Am Ende des Krieges konnten die Piloten der 332. Fighter Group auf eine beeindruckende Bilanz blicken: in ca. 15.000 Einsätzen konnten sie mehr als 400 feindliche Flugzeuge zerstören. Dazu kamen unzählige Bodenziele, darunter sogar ein deutscher Zerstörer.

Es wurden 850 Auszeichnungen verliehen.
66 Tuskegee Airmen sind im Kampf gefallen.